Kuebler-Ross developed a model of grief describing 5 stages experienced by a person who is dying.



(1) denial

(2) anger

(3) bargaining

(4) depression

(5) acceptance and resolution


There is considerable variation in the stages with some people

(1) progressing through the stages in sequence.

(2) experiencing none of the stages.

(3) cycling through stages several times or in a different sequence.



(1) Some people have expanded the number of stages to 6 or 7.

(2) The stages can be applied to other situations involving loss.


To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.