The American College of Cardiology (ACC) and the American Heart Association (AHA) included general criteria for making the diagnosis of diastolic heart failure. This occurs when there is impaired relaxation of the ventricle during diastole.



(1) presence of typical signs and symptoms of heart failure

(2) normal left ventricular ejection fraction

(3) no valvular abnormalities found on echocardiography

(4) exclusion of other disorders:

(4a) restrictive cardiomyopathy

(4b) pericardial constriction

(4c) high output failure (as seen in thyrotoxicosis, arteriovenous fistula, anemia)

(4d) pulmonary arterial hypertension with right heart failure

(4e) atrial myxoma


To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.