Sacral plexopathy occurs when there is a damage to nerves arising from L5 to S3.


Some of the nerves arising from the lumbar plexus:

(1) superior gluteal

(2) inferior gluteal

(3) sciatic

(4) posterior cutaneous

(5) pudental

(6) perineal

(7) inferior hemorroidal

(8) dorsal of penis

(9) lumbosacral trunk


Clinical features of sacral plexopathy:

(1) weakness of

(1a) hip extensors

(1b) hip abductors

(1c) knee flexors

(1d) ankle plantar flexors

(1e) ankle dorsiflexors

(2) sensory loss with or without vasomotor and trophic changes over

(2a) the posterior thigh

(2b) anterolateral and posterior leg below the knee

(2c) dorsolateral and plantar surface of the foot

(3) reduction or loss of the ankle jerk


Accurate diagnosis of the plexopathy requires neuroimaging and electromyography.


To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.