Calcification of the tympanic membrane (eardrum) can be classified based on quadrant distribution.

Exam: The tympanic membrane is divided into 4 quadrants: anterior superior, posterior superior, anterior inferior and posterior inferior.


There are 16 possible combinations for calcifications in the various quadrants.





Type 0

calcifications in both superior quadrants

Type I

calcifications in only one of the superior quadrants

Type II


Types I and II may have calcifications in the lower quadrants.

To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.