Disseminated intravascular coagulation (DIC) can range from mild to severe and from acute to chronic. Cooper et al classified DIC based on the level of "compensation" as reflected by the levels of components consumed by the coagulopathy. The compensation reflected the ability of the body to increase production to exceed consumption.


Components typically consumed (reduced) in DIC:

(1) platelets

(2) fibrinogen

(3) Factor V

(4) Factor VIII

Levels of the Different Components


all decreased


most decreased, but 1 or 2 normal


1 or more show an increased concentration



To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.