Bradydysrhythmias can be classified based the anatomic site of dysfunction and the ECG features.

Main categories based on the anatomic site of dysfunction:

(1) sinus node dysfunction

(2) arteriovenous (AV) block


Types of sinus node dysfunction:

(1) sinus bradycardia

(2) sinus arrest

(3) tachy-brady syndrome (sick sinus, sinoatrial disorder)

(4) chronotropic incompetence


Types of arteriovenous (AV) block:

(1) first-degree

(2) second-degree, Mobitz type I or Wenckebach

(3) second-degree, Mobitz type II

(4) third-degree (complete)

To read more or access our algorithms and calculators, please log in or register.